Texas provides approximately 100,000 licenses per year. The Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission offers 30 liquor and beer licenses and permits for selling, distributing or warehousing alcohol, and the process can be somewhat complicated.
Individuals who have received a DUI within the last 6 months, were convicted of a felony within the last 5 years or violated any state liquor laws within the last 2 years cannot obtain a liquor license in Texas.
Consult the TABC website to determine what type of license you need. For example, will you be brewing beer, selling wine and beer, importing alcohol products or selling mixed beverages? Your license must apply directly to the type of business you have.
After you have determined what Texas liquor license you should apply for, check your zoning laws to ensure alcohol can be sold in your zone because Texas has wet, dry and mixed counties. Find out if your locality also has a license quota. Finally, check whether you need a surety or tax bond.
After submitting your licensing application, you may experience a waiting period of up to one year. You will also have a fee, which is typically approximately $600.
Your employees may also require a license and fee to sell your alcohol. You and your employees may also be required to complete training.
Your organization will also be inspected, so display a notice of your application for a liquor license. An annual inspection may be required if you want to renew your license. Finally, an in-person interview may also be conducted.
Although they are not required by the state, you should have your employees obtain TABC certifications to protect your business from losing its license. Your business and employees may be fined and your employees may lose their certifications if they violate TABC regulations.
The TABC certification requires a training course that ensures they are safe and responsible as they serve your customers. This training includes how to check customer IDs prior to serving them and identifying alcohol consumption limits for different individuals. Affordable classes may be taken online and are valid for up to 2 years.
If you are thinking of pursuing a business in the alcohol industry, review the TABC requirements for a liquor license and plan to complete the application process well in advance. When you open, be sure to protect your business through employee training and certification.